Spring Break is Over and You are Left with an MIP Charge. Now What? - LexTalk

Spring Break is Over and You are Left with an MIP Charge. Now What?

Posted on 04-12-2016 by
Tags: minor in possession , mip , fake id , Trending News & Topics , attorney. georgia , athens , minor in possession of alcohol , lawyer , alcohol laws in georgia

Spring break is a time when thousands of college students across the country leave campus, log out of their student portals, and party. Students over and under the age of 21 often consume alcohol and other drugs on spring break, despite it being illegal for them to do so. When an individual under the age of 21 is caught consuming or possessing alcohol, he or she can face a minor in possession, or MIP, charge. If you or your child has been charged with MIP this past spring break, seek minor in possession of alcohol help in Athens or where his or her charge occurred.

Minor in Possession of Alcohol Laws in Georgia

When an individual who is under 21, the legal age to possess and consume alcohol in the United States, is charged with MIP in Georgia for the first time, he or she can face the following penalties:

 

  • A fine of up to $300;       
  • Up to six months in jail; and
  • Suspension of his or her driver's license for up to six months.            

For a second or subsequent MIP offense, the penalties the individual faces are higher. They are:

 

  • Up to one year in jail;     
  • A fine of up to $1,000; and                       
  • Suspension of his or her driver's license for up to one year.     
               

It is important to note that an individual caught using a fake ID to purchase alcoholic beverages also faces these penalties. If you are a college student or a parent of a college student, familiarize yourself with Georgia's alcohol possession and consumption laws. Many young adults drink alcohol for the first time while they are in college, but it is important that these individuals know that they are breaking the law and the penalties they may face if they are caught.

After you are Charged with MIP

If you have been charged with MIP, you can potentially have the charge dismissed if you can defend your case effectively. This is where help from an experienced MIP lawyer is crucial. As soon as you can after you are charged, contact an experienced MIP lawyer to begin discussing defense strategies for your case. It is important that you do not speak with the police or the court until you have retained counsel from an experienced lawyer. You might be coaxed into saying something that incriminates you when you speak with the police – you have the right to remain silent, so be sure to use it if necessary.

Work with an MIP Lawyer in Athens

If you are facing a minor in possession of alcohol charge in Athens, work with an attorney from an experienced minor in possession of alcohol law firm. There are many lawyers in the region who have specific experience defending cases where individuals under the age of 21 have been charged with possessing alcohol. Be proactive and find the right lawyer for you today.

Your comment has been posted.   Close
Thank you, your comment requires moderation so it may take a while to appear.   Close